Tardis.dev alternatives for crypto tick and trade data

Tardis.dev, CoinAPI, Kaiko, CoinDesk Data and exchange archives compared for tick, trade and order-book data: what each sells and who each suits.

The main Tardis.dev alternatives are CoinAPI (from $79 a month), Kaiko (from $1,000 a month), CoinDesk Data (no public price) and an exchange's own archive files. Tardis.dev itself sells tick-level order book updates, trades, funding, open interest and liquidations, and claims 50+ exchanges. For Hyperliquid, its trades and 20-level order book snapshots start 29 October 2024. Comparand fits a smaller job: free trades for up to 24 hours per call, plus day files of Hyperliquid bars and labels. It does not offer order-book depth or Hyperliquid trade-level data.

Below is what each source publishes about its data, history and price. We did not test any vendor's data quality.

What is tick data, and do you need it?

A tick is one event: one trade, or one change to the list of waiting orders. Tick data keeps every event in order. Candles keep only a summary, such as the open, high, low and close over one minute.

The list of waiting orders is the order book. Vendors often call the best bid and ask "level 1" (L1) and the deeper list "level 2" (L2).

You need tick data to test how orders would have filled or to replay a moment second by second. To count how often price moved a certain amount in an hour, candles are enough.

One minute of trade ticks beside the one candle that summarizes themIllustration, not real trades. Left: 38 made-up trade ticks across one minute, each a square at its time and price. Right: the single candle that summarizes them, drawn on the same price scale. The candle keeps four numbers from the ticks: the first (open), the highest (high), the lowest (low) and the last (close).TICKS VS CANDLE / ILLUSTRATIONMany ticks. One candle.One minute of trading, drawn two ways.38 ticks1 candle0s15s30s45s60shighcloseopenlowTicks keep every trade and when it happened.The candle keeps four numbers: open, high,low and close.Illustration: made-up trades, not exchange data.comparand.xyz
One minute of trade ticks beside the one candle that summarizes them

How do the main sources compare?

How do the main sources compare?
Source What it sells or publishes Published price Published history or coverage
Tardis.dev Tick-level order book updates, trades, quotes, funding, open interest, mark and index prices, liquidations No plan prices on its billing guide 50+ exchanges, 7+ years claimed
CoinAPI Trades, quotes, OHLCV bars, order books, options, funding, open interest, liquidations Startup $79 a month; Streamer $249; Pro $599; pay as you go 400+ exchanges claimed
Kaiko Trades, order books and OHLCV by API, stream, files and cloud From $1,000 a month (L1 Aggregations) to $2,500 (L2 Tick-Level) 100+ exchanges on its L1/L2 page
CoinDesk Data Trades, derivatives, order book snapshots and updates No public price; the site asks you to book a call 300+ exchanges for trade data
Hyperliquid archive Order book snapshots, asset contexts, fills, transfers, staking and funding files Free files; you pay transfer costs Start dates not stated
Comparand Trades (up to 24 hours per call), plus Hyperliquid day files of bars, labels and funding Trades and file catalog are free; download links use a plan allowance or cost $0.15 per GB Hyperliquid archive days shown by hl_coverage

Sources: Tardis.dev, CoinAPI, Kaiko, CoinDesk Data and Hyperliquid's data docs. Prices are in US dollars and change. Coverage numbers are vendor claims, not our measurements.

What does Tardis.dev do well?

Tardis.dev is built around raw exchange data, with downloadable CSV files that it says update daily. Its Hyperliquid page is detailed. History starts 29 October 2024 with trades and 20-level order book snapshots about every 5.4 seconds. Best bid and offer data starts 26 June 2025, and 5-level snapshots start 17 June 2026. Its docs give Binance futures a start of 17 November 2019 and Coinbase Exchange 30 March 2019.

History depends on how you pay. Its billing guide gives 4 months on monthly billing, 12 months on quarterly and 4 years on yearly. Business yearly includes all available history. We found no dollar prices per plan on the pages we read, so ask Tardis.dev.

Limits worth knowing:

  • Its docs say Binance futures data before 14 May 2020 may have gaps and latency spikes.
  • Free CSV samples cover only the first day of each month.
  • Subscriptions auto-renew, upgrades are not prorated, and there are no refunds or one-off purchases.

When might CoinAPI, Kaiko or CoinDesk Data fit better?

CoinAPI publishes prices you can read without a call. Startup is $79 a month ($69 billed yearly) with 1,000 REST credits per day. Streamer is $249 ($199 yearly) with 10,000. Pro is $599 ($499 yearly) with 100,000. Pay as you go includes $25 of free credits. Access includes REST, WebSocket, FIX, MCP and S3 flat files. Hyperliquid was not named on the pages we read.

Kaiko targets firms. Its four packages start at $1,000, $1,500, $2,000 and $2,500 a month, from L1 Aggregations up to L2 Tick-Level. Its history starts in 2010 for OHLCV and 2015 for order books, but that depends on the dataset. Our Kaiko and Amberdata guide has more.

CoinDesk Data, formerly CryptoCompare, claims 300+ exchanges for trade data and history back to 2010 at daily, hourly and minute detail. Its order book data includes slippage, spread and depth. It shows no public price, and its free API tier was set to end on 21 May 2026.

For price-bar sources, see our guide to six crypto data APIs.

What can an exchange's own archive give you?

Hyperliquid publishes a lot. One archive bucket holds order book snapshots and asset contexts. A second holds fills, blocks, transactions and events such as transfers, staking and funding.

The buckets are requester-pays, so you cover the transfer cost. The docs say the archive may have missing data, is updated about monthly with no promise on timing, and has no candles or spot data. Its candle request returns only the latest 5,000 candles. So the files are free to read, but you build the cleaning, gap checks and storage.

Where does Comparand fit, and where does it not?

Comparand's main job is finding past charts that look like today's. It also serves market data:

  • venue_trades returns trades for one symbol over at most 24 hours per call, on venues that publish them. It is free.
  • hl_bulk_files lists whole-day Hyperliquid files: 1-minute bars, 5-minute bars, labels and cascade follow-ups, plus funding per coin, each with its size and checksum. It is free.
  • hl_bulk_link gives signed download links for those files. Plans include 40, 200 or 800 GB of links per month (Starter, Pro, Desk). Pay as you go costs $0.15 per GB.

Where it does not fit: no order-book depth and no Hyperliquid trade-level data. Its Hyperliquid files are bars and labels, not ticks. If you need either, Tardis.dev is the closer match. Our guide on downloading Hyperliquid history shows how the day files work.

How can you test a vendor before paying?

Pick one market and one hour you can check. Then:

  • Count the trades in that hour and compare with the exchange's own history.
  • Look for gaps, ask how missing data is marked, and check the time zone.
  • Read the license. Tardis.dev's docs say Coinbase data is subject to Coinbase's market data license.
  • Check refund and renewal terms before you subscribe.

How we measured this

This compares what vendors publish; it is not a data-quality test. We read each company's official pricing, product and documentation pages and recorded only what they say. We did not download tick data, check for gaps or measure speed. When a page did not state something, we say so, which does not prove the feature is missing.

Try this in Comparand

With Comparand connected to your AI agent, ask:

  • "Show the trades for this symbol from 14:00 to 15:00 UTC on a date I choose." venue_trades returns up to 24 hours of trades per call, where the venue publishes them.
  • "List the Hyperliquid archive files for September." hl_bulk_files returns each complete day's files with sizes and checksums, 100 days per page. hl_bulk_link then gives links that last 24 hours and allow 5 downloads each.

You can try 3 coins free. See pricing for plan data limits and the docs for setup. These are past data, not a forecast.

The short version

  • Tardis.dev is built for raw tick data, including Hyperliquid trades and order book snapshots from October 2024.
  • CoinAPI (from $79 a month) and Kaiko (from $1,000) sell trades and order books too; CoinDesk Data lists no price.
  • Hyperliquid's own archive is free to read, but you do the cleaning, and it may have gaps.
  • Comparand has free trades for up to 24 hours per call, but no order-book depth and no Hyperliquid trade-level data.
  • Test one hour of data before you subscribe.

Questions people ask

What is the best Tardis.dev alternative?

It depends on what you need. CoinAPI sells trades, quotes and order books with published monthly prices. Kaiko sells trade and order-book packages that start at $1,000 a month. CoinDesk Data lists no public price. An exchange's own archive costs only the transfer, but you do the cleaning.

Does Comparand replace Tardis.dev for tick data?

No. Comparand does not offer order-book depth or Hyperliquid trade-level data. It does return trades for up to 24 hours per call on venues that publish them. For tick-level Hyperliquid trades or book snapshots, Tardis.dev is the better fit.

Can I get Hyperliquid trade data without paying a vendor?

Partly. Hyperliquid publishes archive files with order book snapshots, asset contexts, fills and other events. The archive is requester-pays, may have missing data and is updated about monthly, with no promise on timing. Its candle request returns only the latest 5,000 candles.

Can I try Tardis.dev before paying?

Yes. Its billing guide says the first day of each month is free without an API key, and there is a one-month trial that needs no payment details. It also says subscriptions auto-renew and are not refunded, so test before you subscribe.

Read next