Coinalyze vs Velo vs Laevitas: derivatives data compared
Coinalyze vs Velo vs Laevitas for funding, open interest and liquidations: published prices, history depth, and which fits charting, options or an API.
Velo, Laevitas and Coinalyze each cover funding, open interest and liquidations, but they suit different people. Velo is a charting app with a CSV API that costs $199 a month with 3 months of history. Laevitas leans toward options and starts free with one week of history. Coinalyze describes itself as a free data API, and we could not confirm its limits. Comparand is narrower: Hyperliquid depth, free funding for other exchanges, and AI-app access.
Prices and limits are as these companies publish them and can change. Past data is not a forecast.
For CoinGlass and how the others compare with it, see CoinGlass alternatives.
What do funding, open interest and liquidation data show?
A perp is a futures contract that never expires. Three kinds of data describe how crowded it is:
- Funding is a small payment that traders on one side of a perp pay the other side.
- Open interest is the total size of trades still open.
- A liquidation is when an exchange closes a trade because the trader's money ran out. Many in a short time make a cascade.
These are all measures of positioning, not of price alone. A data service can show them as dashboards for people or as an API for code. Our guides on funding rates and open interest explain each one.
How do these tools compare?
| Tool | Data it lists | API | Published price | Published history |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Coinalyze | Not confirmed from the pages we could read | Described as a free API | Described as free | Not confirmed |
| Velo | Futures, options and spot; open interest and funding charts | CSV API and a TypeScript SDK | API key $199 a month | 3 months on monthly; full history on yearly |
| Laevitas | Options, perps (funding, open interest, liquidations), dated futures, order book snapshots | REST, WebSocket and MCP | Free; Premium $50 per seat; Enterprise $500 per seat | One week free, one year Premium; claims five years |
| CoinGlass | Prices, open interest, funding, liquidation history, options, ETFs | Yes | Hobbyist $29 a month; Professional $699 | 1-hour history of 180 days (Startup) to 720 (Professional) |
| Comparand | Funding, open interest changes and liquidations | REST and MCP | Free funding tools for other venues; Hyperliquid tools $0.005 to $0.01 a call on pay as you go | Hyperliquid bars from April 2025; other venues vary by dataset |
Sources: Coinalyze docs, Velo API docs, Laevitas, CoinGlass pricing. CoinGlass monthly amounts equal its yearly totals divided by 12. We did not confirm month-by-month billing.
What does Coinalyze offer?
Its official API page describes it as a free crypto data API. That is the only detail we could confirm. The page did not show its endpoints, exchanges, rate limits or how far back history goes. We also could not confirm any paid plan prices.
So the fair summary is short: it may fit a free hobby project, but read its documentation yourself before you rely on it. We do not claim it lacks anything.
What does Velo do well?
Velo's web app charts 3,400+ symbols across exchanges that include Binance, Bybit, Coinbase and Hyperliquid, with open interest and funding rate indicators. It also shows order book heatmaps and heatmaps for Hyperliquid take-profit, stop-loss and liquidation levels.
Its API returns futures, options and spot data as CSV. Velo also offers a TypeScript SDK for candles and historical open interest. The catch is history: the monthly API key includes only 3 months, and full history needs a yearly plan. Its API page shows no rate limit numbers. We did not see Hyperliquid listed for the API itself, only for the web app.
What does Laevitas do well?
Laevitas is the options-heavy choice. It lists options chains, flows, implied volatility and Greeks, plus perps, dated futures and historical order book snapshots. Its API comes as REST, WebSocket and an MCP server, and it sells tick data you can pay for with USDC.
It claims 15+ exchanges, 1,000+ tracked assets and five years of history, and its API section names Binance, Deribit, OKX, Bybit and Hyperliquid. How much it keeps for Hyperliquid was not detailed.
The tiers are clear. The free plan has one week of history. Premium is $50 a month per seat with one year of history and CSV exports. Enterprise is $500 a month per seat with API historical data. Its docs say an API key needs an enterprise subscription. The API limit is 240 requests per 60 seconds, with history pages of up to 144 items.
How does CoinGlass fit?
CoinGlass lists prices, open interest, funding, liquidation history, options and ETF data in its API catalog. Our CoinGlass alternatives guide looks at it on its own. Hobbyist is $29 a month and Professional is $699 a month, as annual totals divided by 12. Its 1-hour history table shows 180 days for Startup, 360 for Standard and 720 for Professional. Hobbyist is blank, which means not stated, not zero. Hobbyist and Startup are for personal use; Standard and Professional allow commercial use.
Which of these tools cover Hyperliquid?
Hyperliquid is a large exchange for perps, and not every tool names it.
- Velo lists Hyperliquid charts and Hyperliquid liquidation heatmaps in its web app. Its API pages did not say whether the API covers Hyperliquid.
- Laevitas names Hyperliquid in its API section, but did not detail which data or how much history.
- Coinalyze: we could not read its exchange list, so we cannot say. We did not check CoinGlass for Hyperliquid.
- Comparand serves Hyperliquid funding, open-interest changes, liquidations and cascade events by API and MCP.
Where does Comparand fit, and where does it not?
Comparand finds past charts that look like today's and shows what happened next. It also serves the data behind a Hyperliquid answer.
Where it fits:
- Hyperliquid depth. Funding, open-interest changes, liquidation totals per hour or day, the largest liquidation minutes over up to 548 days, and cascade events.
- Free funding for other exchanges. venue_funding returns up to 400 days per call.
- API and MCP. Your script or your AI agent calls the same tools.
Where it does not fit. The tool list has no options tools. Open interest comes as the change in each bar, not the total level. Comparand's Hyperliquid bars start in April 2025, much shorter than the five years Laevitas claims across its venues. Velo and Laevitas also cover more charting and dashboards.
For what Hyperliquid funding data looks like, see our funding rate history guide. For liquidation data in use, see what happened after liquidation cascades.
How should you check derivatives data before building on it?
Pick one coin and one week you can verify on the exchange's own page. Then check:
- Units. Is funding shown per payment, per hour or per year? Rates in different units cannot be compared.
- Level or change. Does open interest mean the total size, or the change in each bar?
- Side. Does a liquidation count the long side, the short side or both?
- Exchange. The same coin on two exchanges gives different numbers. Keep the exchange fixed.
- History start. Ask for the first date for your exact coin, not for the whole vendor.
How we measured this
This is a comparison of what vendors publish, not a data-quality test. We read each company's official pricing, product and documentation pages and recorded only what they say. We did not download data, check for gaps or compare numbers between vendors. Coverage figures are vendor claims. Where a page did not state something, we say so; that does not prove a feature is missing.
Try this in Comparand
With Comparand connected to your AI agent, ask:
- "Show the funding payments for this perp on this exchange for the last 90 days." venue_funding returns funding settlements, up to 400 days per call, and is free.
- "How did open interest change each hour for this Hyperliquid coin yesterday?" hl_oi returns USD opened, closed and net per bar. It is the change, not the level.
- "What were this coin's liquidation totals per day last month?" hl_liquidations_series returns totals per complete UTC hour or day.
On a plan, these data tools are unlimited under fair use. On pay as you go, Hyperliquid funding and open interest cost $0.005 a call, and liquidation series cost $0.005. Starter is $19 a month with 60 requests per minute. You can try 3 coins free, and the docs show setup. These are past data, not a forecast.
The short version
- Velo suits people who want charts plus a CSV API; its monthly API key has 3 months of history.
- Laevitas suits options work and publishes tiers from free to $500 a month per seat.
- Coinalyze says it is free; we could not confirm its exchanges or limits.
- Comparand adds Hyperliquid depth, free funding for other exchanges and AI-app access, but no options tools and no open interest level.
- Check units, side and history start for your exact coin before you build.
Questions people ask
What is a good Coinalyze alternative?
Velo and Laevitas are two. Velo sells an API at $199 a month with 3 months of history, and full history on a yearly plan. Laevitas has a free plan with one week of history and paid plans from $50 a month per seat. CoinGlass is a third. Which fits depends on the exchanges and history you need.
Is Coinalyze free?
Its API documentation page describes the service as a free crypto data API. The pages we could read did not list its exchanges, rate limits or history depth, so check those before you build on it.
Which tool has options data, Velo, Laevitas or Comparand?
Laevitas lists options data such as chains, flows, implied volatility and Greeks. Velo's API serves options data as well. Comparand's tool list has no options tools. It covers funding, open interest changes and liquidations.
Does Comparand give the open interest level?
No. Its Hyperliquid open interest tool returns the change in open interest in each bar: USD opened, closed and net. It is not the total level. If you need the level, check a tool that lists it.
Can I get funding rates from Claude or ChatGPT?
Yes, through Comparand's MCP server. Free funding tools return funding settlements for perps on other exchanges, up to 400 days per call, and Hyperliquid funding costs $0.005 a call on pay-as-you-go keys (included in fair use on a plan).